top of page
  • thearmchairfan

Reading list

Updated: Aug 1, 2019

A selection of football books, all highly recommended:


*A Mag for all seasons, Billy Furious

*Fever Pitch, Nick Hornby

*Touching Distance, Martin Hardy

*FA Confidential: Sex, Drugs and Penalties. The inside story of English football, David Davis

*Shirt of Legends, Paul Joannou

*Black & White daft, Mick Edmondson

*The Far Corner, Harry Pearson

*The Secret Footballer

*Back lanes and muddy pitches, Robert Powell

*Beastly Fury, Richard Sanders

*How Steeple Sinderby wanderers won the FA Cup, J.L Carr

*Pointless: A season with Britain's worst football team, Jeff Connor


For younger readers:


*The Soccer Mad series, Rob Childs

*The Big match series, Rob Childs

*The Stretford Enders, Trevor J. Colgan

*One Kick, Michael Hardcastle



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My (Least) Favourite Match Part 4 - Derby Despair!

In the absence of any live football for the foreseeable future, I’ve decided to take a trip down memory lane and visit some of my favourite (and least favourite!) Toon matches since I started attendin

My Favourite Match Part 3 - Bobby Dazzler

In the absence of any live football for the foreseeable future, I’ve decided to take a trip down memory lane and visit some of my favourite (and least favourite!) Toon matches since I started attendin

My Favourite Match - Part 2 Comeback Kings!

In the absence of any live football for the foreseeable future, I’ve decided to take a trip down memory lane and visit some of my favourite (and least favourite!) Toon matches since I started attendin

bottom of page