top of page
  • thearmchairfan

A Man United view on NUFC (Part 2)

This ‘Outside Perspective’ comes From Man United Season ticket holder Lee Harrison. Huge thanks to him for taking the time to answer the following questions. What does he make of the trials and tribulations at NUFC? Find out below:


What memories do you have of your team’s matches against Newcastle United over the years, do any particular games stand out?

I always look forward to games against Newcastle. I have a strong affinity with the city, I used to visit often in my teens and I loved the general friendliness and vibe of the place. I get that same vibe with the fans. Games gone by I remember include Ole Solskjaer wiping out Rob Lee at Old Trafford (1-1 draw in 1998), he was a favourite with me after that! An early memory of Eric Cantona was at St James Park when he scored in a cracking game which we won 1-0 I was only 12 or so but I remember how big a goal that was for us and how magnificent Cantona really was that night. More recently I remember a 6-0 win when we ran riot all goals in the second half. I loved the 4-3 win at home when Hernandez scored in the last minute. Equally as good last season I think when Sanchez did the same and broke the Toon hearts. We seem to score plenty against each other. Not so fond memories of the 5-0 at SJP all those years ago, the Albert chip had me close to tears, I couldn’t believe what was happening! Another terrible result for us was 2013, Cabaye with the goal in a 1-0 win and again two seasons ago when Matt Ritchie scored the only goal. Some great games!


Can you think of any players who have played for both teams, what kind of impression did they make?

I watched Man Utd from an early age on the TV, but my parents got me a ticket for my birthday all those years ago, I'm 33 now but I didn’t get to OT until the year Andy Cole signed for us. He scored the first goal I ever saw live so I have a soft spot for him. I also loved Nicky Butt but he had a shocker at Newcastle. Thinking outside the box, players who I loved for us, but didn't work out for Newcastle, Louis Saha and Ronny Johnson. Both bought at the wrong time for the Toon. Fantastic for us!


Have you ever visited St James’ Park and/or the city of Newcastle, what did you make of your time there?

As stated above, I visited a lot in my teens. A girlfriend at Newcastle Uni the main reason I suppose. I have been plenty, I used to go just to fill the time on a weekend. St James Park offers a good atmosphere when Newcastle are playing well, but it's also a hotbed for moans and groans when things aren't going so well. I went once when the Toon beat West Ham 5-0 and Leon Best scored a hat trick. I remember Michael Owen scoring in a win against Everton too. The city was friendly, I remember that much. I still say it's the best place to visit for its vibe, just something about Newcastle, it's a city I love. I watched a game in the Utd end in the winter back in 2004, we won 3-1 but it was quite a hostile game and Ruud Van Nistelrooy really wound up the SJP faithful. I went back to the girlfriends after the game and the next night went to get the train back to Oxenholme in Kendal. I stupidly had my Man Utd jacket on, it was wet and windy and bloody cold. I was set on by a few lads giving me a hard time, I really thought I was going to get a beating. I went into a local pub just to get out the way and then two skinheads started on me! In true geordie fashion however they were just joking. They could see the fear in this 18 year old lad’s eyes. I ended up drinking all night with them, petrified and laughing hard at the same time. I had a great night in the end, blind drunk and caught a 6am train.....never again haha.


Hypothetically, if your team’s next match was at home to Newcastle in the league, would you be quietly confident of three points?

I'm always confident at home, against any team. Even though we've lost our way recently I still think all teams have a level of expectation at home. Against the current Newcastle side I would expect to win. It would be a kick in the teeth if we didn't. Under Rafa the Toon looked more organised, I think Steve Bruce could do ok, but he seems to have the fans against him already. A mix like that isn't good for any club and should be exposed by the opposition.


Newcastle fans have often been referred to as ‘deluded’ by some sections of the media, unfair and untrue, entirely justified or somewhere in the middle?

I think when you come close to a title under Keegan, and picked up some fantastic players along the way, expectation creeps into a club. Newcastle have a good fan base. Without trying to cause offence I see them in the same mould as Everton, Villa, Leeds. Big clubs, traditional, but let down by poor choices. It's fun to poke fun and say fans are deluded, but, what are your expectations? I don't expect much from you right now, maybe just survival? Surely the fans don't expect more at the current time. If your fans think Europa or Champions League is the minimum, then you are deluded. You’re not spending the money we do, City or Liverpool etc. When you do and the club is stable you'll expect more. So, no, I don't think the fans are deluded. I just think they expect better from the club.


‘Newcastle United is not a big club’ How would you respond to this statement?

Harsh, in my eyes you are a big club, not in terms of trophies won as there’s little history in that sense, but as in fan base, size of ground. Same as Villa, Leeds, Everton. Leeds have more trophy history, smaller ground but a massive fan base. Newcastle are bigger than historic clubs further down the leagues who are still classed as ‘big clubs’. So it's hard to dictate what makes a big club. The top 6 in the Premiership are huge! Newcastle aren’t on that level. People will always have an opinion on what a big club is. For stadium, and fanbase you get the big club thumbs up from me, unfortunately it’s a big club that’s massively underachieving.


What does Mike Ashley’s ownership of Newcastle look like from the outside?

Funny one isn't he. Spends some money, more than a lot of other clubs can. You’re not Bury and Bolton so that's a bonus but we all know what the fans think of him, and the fans know best in my eyes. We have an issue with the Glazers. Fact is you can demonstrate, not go to games, not buy any merchandise but clubs like ours are on a global scale, the fans around the world will still buy merchandise and attend a game if they can. If i gave up my season ticket it will be gone in no time! I’m in the ground to support my team, my players, my manager. Not the Glazers. I don’t buy merchandise or any food or drink at the ground, I spend £37 a game on my seat. I wouldn’t give it up unless work or family commitments meant I had to. The Glazers can kill the football club, but they can't kill the match day experience for me. Newcastle tried the ‘boycott Arsenal’ thing, was it brave or daft? A few thousand boycotted, were they season ticket holders? Had the money already been paid out? It was mentioned on TV once I think. It's not enough, and the players lost out on some support in a difficult game.


Would you swap the current owner of your club for Mike Ashley?

No, were both in the same bracket of bad owners!


In this day and age of massive TV revenue, do you believe supporter led protests such as boycotts etc still have the power to bring about positive change?

I suppose I’ve already answered this above. I personally wouldn't boycott. I’m all for getting behind the players to be honest. I think a protest outside the ground on a televised game is the right way. It's going to be seen, the cameras will pick up on it. It is tough because quite simply if a club is making money, why would the owners shift? Unless the majority refuse season tickets and nobody else snaps them up then that’s the way to go. I bet at St James’ there's a fan waiting to snap up any spare ticket the second it becomes free.


Where do you think Newcastle will finish in the league this season and why?

I liked the look of your new forwards. Away from Schar your quite open at the back though. Newcastle fans need to get behind Steve Bruce, he has a hell of a job on. This is where the fans let themselves down and why they get ridiculed, Bruce isn't first choice, but he's a proud man, he will give it his all. The deluded side comes back into it when you thought Jose Mourinho was coming, that's deluded! Rafa has always messed his clubs around for more money. Good manager however. You need a manager that can fight with scrappy players at the minute, Bruce can do that. I actually had you down as 18th until you signed a few forwards. I reckon 16th or so now.


Do you think the manager’s job at Newcastle has become something of a poisoned chalice?

Yes, mainly because of Rafa going. Toon fans loved him, and at some point you'll love another. The axe will fall on Bruce because you've all got it in for him already. I never wanted Moyes, LVG or Mourinho, difference is we always got behind our managers from the start, all given a chance, and when it turned sour, out they went. We, like you, hate our board. Managers when brought in shouldn't get grief from day one. They are there to do the best they can. I wouldn't ever question a managers integrity from the outset.


What would represent ‘achievement’ for Steve Bruce in his first season as manager of NUFC?

Surviving until Christmas. I honestly don't give him much chance because of the fans but who's next? No 'big' manager or up and coming manager should go to Newcastle. The players are mediocre, the owner is awful. Managers need to look after their own careers too.

If you could choose one current NUFC player to sign for your team this summer, who (if any) would you choose and why?

Well we were heavily linked with Longstaff, I had only seen him play once or twice. I didn't quite get why we wanted him, I hope he's a good player we may well go back for., He looked comfortable but no better than Mctominay or maybe on a level with Pereira who is just ok. It annoys me slightly when 30-50 million was been asked for him. We have a player, James Garner, who is raved about in the reserves. Id prefer to see him in the team than spend that amount of money.


Are there any former NUFC players that you wish had played for your team rather than the Toon?

This will be unpopular with the Toon faithful as most fans will say Shearer, I hated Alan Shearer. It was because I loved Roy Keane and the pair had plenty of history. I did think Les Ferdinand was a fantastic player, David Ginola too. The one player I had a thing for was Nobby Solano. Quality! Just a fan favourite. United fans would have enjoyed him.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A West Brom view on NUFC

This 'Outside Perspective' is brought to you by West Brom season ticket holder Andy Jones, huge thanks to him for taking the time to answer these questions on The Toon: What memories do you have of yo

A Tranmere Rovers view on NUFC

This ‘Outside Perspective’ is brought to you by Tranmere Rovers fan Matty Robinson. Huge thanks to him for taking the time to answer the following questions. What does he make of the trials and tribul

A Man United view on NUFC

This ‘Outside Perspective’ is brought to you by Man United fan Jon-David Herbert. Huge thanks to him for taking the time to answer the following questions. What does he make of the trials and tribulat

bottom of page